top of page

The first blog post of J&j imagery!


Well, this is the first blog post of J&j! Pretty exciting :) While I love playing around with the layout of this website, I do bemoan the fact that the space to add descriptions in the portfolio is so limited. So what better way to highlight a new addition to the site and its details than here?!

The first image that I will be sharing is a composite from our trip to Churchill, MB last year that I organized for members of the Foothills Camera Club. This was processed first in Lightroom and then completed in Photoshop. It's really a rather simple composite, and therefor a fairly easy process in Photoshop, but that just goes to show that sometimes less is more. Compositing is a great way to wet your feet in Photoshop because I can tell you, some of these hour long Youtube tutorials are rather daunting.

I decided to do this particular image because I loved the shot of the polar bear in this image, but unfortunately the DoF was a little shallow so I couldn't really use it as a standalone image. It was, however, one of my favorite expressions that I captured of these majestic creatures, so I needed to find a way to use it. Hence, I added it to another one of my favorite images from the trip, Magical Aurora. The process was really just the two images on their own layers and then controlling the opacity of the polar bear layer. After than I added a couple of other layers to create the borders and to add our watermark. Here are the original images and the finished product.

All of this is a work in progress, but I will shortly get everything connected to our online storefront where larger prints, greeting cards, and other items will be available. Please feel free to share or comment on anything you wish.

All good things are worth the effort.


bottom of page