top of page

Owlets on the Wrong Side of the Tracks

I've been watching this not so little Great Horn Owl family for a while now. There are 3 owlets and 2 adults both frequenting this nest. One of the little ones was very active the last few days so when I woke up on Saturday morning I just had to head over to visit them before I started work for the day. And thank goodness I did. The strongest of the little ones seems to have almost flown the coup. If their position on the trestles above the active train tracks and dog park wasn't noisy enough, this little owlet has now been perched under the tracks for somewhere between 1 and 3 days now. I'll continue to go there every chance I get to make sure that he's okay and to wish him well!

Sitting here with a morning coffee and hanging out with my favorite owlet.  Happy as a clam :)

Here I am sitting with my camera, morning coffee and my favorite owlet, happy as a clam :)

And here is the little tyke, still in the nest (his other two siblings are in there with him) from just a few days ago. That big red thing underneath is a passing freight train....

This is how we here at J&j work on the evening edits from this shot in the field

And these here are the fruits of our labors. Absolute love for this little guy!


bottom of page